Season 1 Episodes 1-3

January 28th, 2016

This is my first time watching Game of Thrones on HBO. I know that this show has been out for 5 seasons and the 6th one is coming in April 2016. My first introduction to the show was through the television show South Park. In season 17 episodes 7, 8, and 9 of South Park they used themes from the HBO show and I was not impressed. I thought that Game of Thrones would not be worth my time watching and I could spend my time doing other things. The part in that episode that made me decided this was when Butters and Scott went to George R. R. Martin’s home in New Mexico. When the boys get to the home they are met by George Martin and forced to listen to his new theme song where it is themed around weiners. Now when I hear the theme song half of the time I go into the South Park’s rendition and the other half is how it is being played.

During my college career I was a music major. In this series for the first three episodes I have noticed that all of the music is instrumental. This makes it easier to listen to the dialogue between the characters. They are showing that there is a high importance on the conversations and they want to make sure that the viewers are able to hear what is going on. I have also started to listen to the music while I study because it is easy to get lost in the notes and there are no distracting words to sing. The music also sounds strong and fierce and it makes me pumped to do my homework.

For this first blog I watched the first three episodes in the series: “Winter is Coming”, “The Kingsroad” and “Lord Snow.” The show has grown on me significantly from my first take from South Park. The first episode, “Winter is Coming” sets up and introduces some of the main characters, like the Starks, Jon Snow, Daenery, the Lannisters, Drago, and King Baratheons. It was nice to be able to see where they all stood with one another and how they interact. In the episode Bran, Ned, Jon Snow, and Robb were coming back from the punishment of the deserter, they stumbled upon a dead mother dire wolf with what appeared to be five pups, which was for the five ligament children of Ned Stark. There was a sixth pup found and it was the runt of the litter, Robb said that it is Jon’s pup. At first I didn’t understand what that meant, but later in the episode it was explained he was the bastard of Ned. I originally thought that Robb didn’t care about Jon and that he was ashamed, but in episode two Robb gives Jon a hug and positive words of encouragement when he goes to leave for the wall. I am interested to see where this relationship leads and if it will grow stronger or weaker as the series continues.

Throughout the first three episodes Daenery has grown and showed great strides to being a powerful ruler. When we are first introduced to Daenery, Viserys is telling her that she needs to look good so that she can wed Drago for his army. Daenery is very complacent and withdrawn. We also see that Drago exerts his dominance over her when they have sex on their wedding night, Drago was in control of what they did and she had to accept it. In episode two, Daenery asks her slave to teach her how to pleasure Drago. She wanted to be in control and make him happy so that she wasn’t getting hurt or feeling pain. She tried to change what they did and at first Drago did not want to follow through. He wanted to be in control and at first it seemed like he reluctantly gave up control. In the third episode it depicts Drago and Daenery cuddling after having sex. It appears that Daenery is changing how Drago acts and is starting to express her power over him. Another way that she expresses her power in episode three was when she told her brother no and stands up to him when he confronts he about stopping.

A couple of things that are lingering after watching the first three episodes: What is the significance with “Winter is Coming”? How will being crippled effect Bran? Is Daenery going to become power hungry? What has happened to Arya’s dire wolf? Why does Arya’s teacher keep calling her a boy? How will Ned help the king in the future and will their friendship last? Finally, how do I get a dire wolf pup?

To view more from my colleagues go to Scholars of the Throne

Leave a comment